DERRY GAA: Derry unchanged for trip to face Cavan

Damian Barton has named an unchanged team for this weekend's All Ireland Qualifying Series Round 3A trip to Breffni Park, Cavan.

Friday, 15th July 2016, 8:59 am
Updated Friday, 15th July 2016, 10:00 am
Derry manager Damina Barton. (Photo Lorcan Doherty /

Saturday’s game will be the Oak Leafers’ third meeting with Terry Hyland’s side this season after victories in the McKenna Cup semi-final and Division Two and Barton has decided to keep faith with the 26 players who carried Derry to victory against Meath.

It means last week’s goalscoring hero, Niall Loughlin, is among the substitutes alongside Enda Lynn who continues to work his way back to full match fitness. And despite last week’s win, Derry will be keen to ensure they don’t repeat the mistakes of last week’s first half display.

“There won’t be to many changes in how we play but there will be a focus on getting a decent start this time,” explained Hugh McGrath, a member of Barton’s management team.

The Derry team to play Cavan on Saturday in Breffni Park (3.30pm) is;

1. Thomas Mallon

2. Gareth McKinless

3. Chrissy McKaigue

4. Karl McKaigue

5. Ciaran McFaul

6. Brendan Rogers

7. Ciaran Mullan

8. Conor McAtamney

9. Niall Holly

10. Danny Heavron

11. Christopher Bradley

12. Eoghan Brown

13. James Kielt

14. Emmett McGuckin

15. Mark Lynch

(Subs) Michael Conlon; Neil Forester; Liam McGoldrick; Michael McEvoy; Niall Keenan; Oisin Duffy; Niall Toner; Niall Loughlin; Emmett Bradley; Enda Lynn; Gerard O’Kane.