League of Ireland Premier Division champions '97.

Derry City crowned League of Ireland champions 1997: In Pictures

On this day 23 years ago, Derry City Football Club won its second League of Ireland Premier Division championship.

Sunday, 19th April 2020, 5:31 pm
Updated Sunday, 19th April 2020, 5:33 pm

The Candy Stripes, managed by 1989 treble winner, Felix Healy, secured a 2-0 victory over St Patrick's Athletic at a packed Brandywell Stadium on April 19th 1997.

A first half strike from James Keddy after 15 minutes followed by captain fantastic, Peter Hutton's goal shortly after the interval as he latched onto Liam Coyle's outstanding pass through the middle to ensure the Foylesiders lifted the title for only the second time in the club's history. And 23 years on the club are still hoping to replicate those heroics.

Take a look back down memory lane at these pictures as we reminisce about that fantastic achievement.

Page 1 of 3