NW PREMIER SNOOKER CUP: Hibs stun CYMS league champions at Letterkenny

AOH CLUB'S shock victory at CYMS and excellent solo displays by Peter Doherty and Shea Moore delivered the headline-hitting performances from last week's preliminary round action in the 2016 edition of the North-West Premier Snooker Knockout Cup.

Sunday, 20th March 2016, 6:42 pm
Updated Sunday, 20th March 2016, 7:49 pm
Shantallow House, who stalemated 2-2 in last week's visit to Creggan 'B', hold a slender one-point lead entering tomorrow night's concluding programme of fixtures in Section of the North-West Veterans' Snooker League. From left Don Meehan, Gerry McLaughlin, Jack Johnstone and Bobby Kelly. DER1116MC031

The triumphant trio for their Hibs in their unexpected 4-2 foray to Letterkenny were Seamus Cusack (2-0), Ray Barrow (1-1) and Shea Moore (1-1), with Gareth Kirwan (59 break) and Chris Gibbons winning a frame apiece for the ‘shellshocked’ Premier League champions.

Cusack’s unscathed shift kept the underdogs in contention at 2-2, before the junior-rated duo of veteran Barrow and youthful Moore finished the job by upstaging senior-graded opposition. A solid all-round team performance, the star turn of the show exhibited by exciting prospect Moore in the final frame (38 and 46 breaks).

Favouritism tags were justified in the remaining four ties, with Shantallow House cruising past visiting Limavady 4-1. Peter Doherty’s 2-0 demolition act on his hapless opponent was completed in sublime style in the second of his two-frame session (31 break followed by 90 clearance). Cracking stuff.

Tooban’s junior-graded duo of Liam Kelly and Kevin McKinney turned in laudable shifts to share the spoils in their respective two-frames sessions against heavyweight opposition, but the Tracey’s Bar visitors ultimately progressed 4-2, the Donegal side conceding the final frame (unassailable points deficit).

Glendermott CC beat Tracey’s ‘147’ at the William Street venue (4-2), while CYMS ‘B’ prevailed on points on their trip to Oak Grove ‘B’, the highlight being a fine 75 sequence from Letterkenny’s Adrian McFadden.

CYMS 2, AOH 4 – Phelim McClafferty 0, Seamus Cusack 2 (40-70 and 42-68); Gareth Kirwan 1, Ray Barrow 1 (73-30 and 42-58); Chris Gibbons 1, Shea Moore 1 (47-35 and 21-84).

SHANTALLOW ‘A’ 4, LIMAVADY 1 – Joe Porter 2, Dean McAleese 0 (89-22 and 76-48); Peter Doherty 2, Liam McDermott 0 (94-3 and 121-0); Pete Murphy 1, Karl Doherty 1 (49-52).

TOOBAN 2, TRACEY’S 4 – Liam Kelly 1, Gerald McCloskey 1 (18-51 and 103-48); Kevin McKinney 1, Anthony McGill 1 (80-22 and 39-80); Donal Murphy 0, Gavin Gallagher 2 (11-96).

OAK ‘B’ 3 (257 PTS), CYMS ‘B’ 3 (327 PTS) – Shea Conway 1, Paul Doherty 1 (26-52 and 58-44); Jan Biernat 1, Mark McCarron 1 (65-42 and 40-43); Gregory McCann 1, Adrian McFadden 1 (57-40 and 11-96).

TRACEY’S ‘147’ 2, GLENS 4 – Hugh Campbell 1, Maurice Ferguson 1; Mal McIvor 1, Steve Weekes 1; Phil McConomy 0, Davy Clifford 2 (no frame scores submitted by home side).

Quarter-finals to be played on Monday 4th April – AOH v Dee’s (Waterside), 7-30 pm; Glendermott v CYMS ‘B’ (Letterkenny), 8 pm; Tracey’s v Shantallow ‘A’, 7-30 pm; Oak Grove v Shantallow ‘B’, 7-30 pm.