NW SNR SNOOKER CH'SHIP: Last year's runner-up '˜stumped'

STEVE WEEKES delivered the headline-hitting performance from last week's second-round action in the Hugh Brady (Snr) North-West Snooker Individual Championship, sponsored by the Brady family and hosted by Shantallow House.

Sunday, 13th March 2016, 7:01 pm
Updated Sunday, 13th March 2016, 8:04 pm
Steve Weekes. (1312PG23)

The Glendermott intermediate-graded contender claimed the prized scalp of the host club’s Peter Doherty, a dual silver medallist (including last year) and pretty much expected to be in the thick of the title scrap again.

The match started as per script, the Shantallow player’s 31 break providing the centre-piece of a comfortable opening frame win. The Cricket Club potter forgot to read the script and, after equalising in grand style (53 compilation), he took the shoot-out frame without undue difficulty (18-57, 66-8 and 61-36).

Title custodian Stephen Brady (Oak) opened his bid to retain the title with a 2-0 win over the very capable Richard Long (Hollywood). The defender soon put the first frame to bed (71 break), but the Waterside cueman enjoyed his full share of table-time in frame two, only to be denied the equaliser on the pink (82-4 and 62-50).

Seamus Cusack (AOH), a three-time silver medallist (2007-08-14), saw his compensation hopes dashed by Paul Keenan (Top Break). The pair swapped the first two frames (black ball verdicts), the Rosemount potter dominating exchanges in the shoot-outer (54-56. 73-69 and 69-14).

Anthony McGill (Tracey’s) won 2-0 against Glendermott’s Jan Biernat (77-26 and 62-51), while Ray Barrow (AOH) beat Hollywood’s Michael Cairns by the odd frame in three (57-45, 51-59 and 68-39).

Joe Porter’s qualification for the Individual League play-offs entitled him to the ‘jollies’ tag to call the shots against Shantallow teammate Harry Logan, but last year’s junior champion was having none of that and decorated his 2-0 victory with a half-century sequence of 54 in the opening frame (68-11 and 50-35).

The remaining eight second-round matches are scheduled to be played next Sunday afternoon and Monday night, the details as follows – NEXT SUNDAY – Phelim McClafferty (Letterkenny CYMS) v Maurice Ferguson (Glendermott), at 2 pm; Gareth Kirwan (CYMS) v Kevin McKinney (Oak), at 2 pm; Johnny Connors (CYMS) v Davy Clifford (Glendermott), at 3 pm; Dean McAleese (Limavady) v James Lyttle (Tracey’s), at 3 pm; Adrian McFadden (CYMS) v Chris Brown (Du Pont), at 4 pm; Simon Cooke (Hollywood) or Chris Gibbons (CYMS) v Liam McDermott (Limavady), at 4 pm; Referees – Seamus Gallagher, Joe Sims. Harry Long and Joe Porter.

MONDAY NIGHT – Sean Devenney (Letterkenny NWSC) v Ralph Dixon (Du Pont), at 7-30 pm; Aidan Devenney (Letterkenny NWSC) v Paul Donaghy (Oak), at 7-30 pm.; Referees – Hugh Brady and Harry Logan.

Next Monday night’s bill also includes four tie-breakers to determine the pecking order for the forthcoming Alfie McGinley Individual League quarter-final play-off – Stephen Brady v Peter Doherty to decide top qualifying spot and Phil McConomy v Joe Porter for third and fourth places (8-30 pm break-off in both matches).

The remaining two games, timed for 9.15pm, are all CYMS affairs – Chris Gibbons v Phelim McClafferty (six and seven) and Gareth Kirwan v Adrian McFadden (final play-off berth). Both matches can be played at Letterkenny on or before next Monday’s deadline date (results to be submitted to John Clifford not later than Tuesday night).

Best-of-two frames tie-breakers, results determined on total aggregate points (final black potted in all frames). Referees- Seamus Gallagher and Joe Sims.