Irish Grand National runners and riders, TV channel and betting guide

More than 60 horses have been entered into the Irish Grand National, headed by Burrows Saint and Pairofbrowneyes as favourites.

Friday, 19th April 2019, 11:09 am
Updated Monday, 22nd April 2019, 10:43 am
The Irish Grand National will take place on Easter Monday (Photo: Getty Images)

The final field of 30 have whittled out some of the hotly tipped runners withdrawing ahead of the race.

Last year’s victorious trainer Gordon Elliott with General Principle was hoping to run 14 entries in the Irish Grand National, beating his own record from last year of 13, but has pulled two of his horses out of the race.

General Principle will run, however, and hope to become the first back-to-back winner of the Irish Grand National since Brown Lad in 1976.

When is the Irish Grand National?

The Irish Grand National is due to start at 5pm on Monday 22 April (Easter Sunday) at Fairyhouse.

Races will begin at 2.05pm, with the final race at 6.10pm.

Which TV channel is showing the Irish Grand National?

In Ireland, RTE2 will show the race as part of their coverage, beginning on 2.30pm on Monday, and finishing after the national has run.

ITV Racing will not be showing the race for viewers in the UK, who will have to tune in to Racing TV to watch the national.

Which horses are racing?

Below is a list of the confirmed runners and riders.

According to betting site Oddschecker, Burrows Saint, to be ridden by Ruby Walsh is becoming the favourite at around 8/1 with Pairofbrowneyes close behind on 10/1.

Tout Est Permis and Total Recall are strong chances at 16/1 with Measureofmydreams at 18/1 and Gun Digger at 16/1 also in with a shout of the overall prize.

1. Tout Est Permis (Sean Flanagan)2. Dounikos (Keith Donoghue)3. Jury Duty (Robbie Power)4. Pairofbrowneyes (Paul Townend)5. Total Recall (Mr Patrick Mullins)6. Shattered Love (Davy Russell)7. A Toi Phil (Rachael Blackmore)8. Acapella Bourgeois (Jonathan Burke)9. Any Second Now (Mark Walsh)10. Monbeg Notorious (Conor Brassil 5)11. Minella Rocco (Mr Derek O'Connor)12. Snugsborough Benny (Denis O'Regan)13. Burrows Saint (Ruby Walsh)14. General Principle (Donagh Meyler)15. Auvergnat (Miss Aine O'Connor 5)16. Isleofhopendreams (Danny Mullins)17. Blow By Blow (Jody McGarvey)18. Valseur Lido (Hugh Morgan 7)19. Woods Well (Bryan Cooper)20. C'est Jersey (Katie O'Farrell 5)21. Out Sam (Brian Hayes)22. Gun Digger (Jack Kennedy)23. Whisperinthebreeze (Paddy Kennedy)24. Roaring Bull (Luke Dempsey)25. Forever Gold (Adam Short 3)26. Bellow Mome (David Mullins)27. Kimberlite Candy (Richie McLernon)28. Measureofmydreams (Mark Enright)29. Shady Operator (JJ Slevin)30. Arkwrisht (Andrew Ring)